In 2006 the Samuel I. Newhouse Foundation established the

This Awards program provides grants to artists of excellence
who happen to have disabilities.

The Foundation currently allocates $60,000 per year for these Awards.
These funds will be distributed among winners at the discretion
of the five invited judges on the selection committee.

Works by winning artists will also be on exhibition at the
Palitz Gallery, at the Joseph I. Lubin House at 11 East 61st Street in
New York.

Nominees and winners will be chosen by a committee composed
of persons respected in the arts and disabilities communities.

All eligible artists must be nominated.

To be eligible for nomination, candidates must be fine artists
of professional standing with a disability, as recognized by
the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Candidates must also have a dedicated website
examples of their work.

The sponsors of these awards believe that this program will
draw attention to the achievements of artists with disabilities,
and show that these artists often have unique skills and
insights which can benefit us all.

Past award winners and last year's nominees are ineligible for these awards.